Delete your tailnet

If your tailnet only has one user and you decide you don’t want to continue using the tailnet, you can delete it from the General settings page of the admin console. You need to be the Owner of a tailnet to delete it.

  1. Open the General settings page of the admin console.

  2. Select Delete tailnet.

  3. To confirm you want to delete your tailnet, enter the domain of your tailnet.

  4. Click Delete to confirm.

  5. Your tailnet is now deleted.

If your tailnet has multiple users, to delete your entire tailnet, contact support. You need to be the Owner of a tailnet to delete it.

When you delete your tailnet, we will permanently delete all node and user data and metadata for your tailnet from our coordination server’s database. Some data may still exist in temporary storage, such as diagnostic logs and backups, and will generally rotate out automatically within 60 days.

Tailscale gathers or stores almost no personal information, except the metadata necessary to operate the product, such as your email address, your full name, a link to your external account profile, and some IP addresses needed for NAT traversal, in compliance with our privacy policy.

If you want to start using Tailscale again after deleting your account, you can use the same account to log in with your preferred identity provider. Upon logging into Tailscale, our system automatically creates a new account if one does not exist. Do not log into Tailscale if you do not want an account to be re-created automatically.

Deleting your data from Tailscale does not automatically unsubscribe you from any mailing lists. To do that, you will also need to unsubscribe via the email preferences link found at the bottom of any Tailscale email.